Annual Tribute to Women to be Held April 10, 2014

"Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women,” the University’s annual tribute to the accomplishments of all women at the UI, will be held Thursday, April 10, 3:00-5:00 p.m. in the IMU 2nd Floor Ballroom. A reception begins at 3:00 p.m. followed by the awards program at 3:30 p.m. The program is free and open to the public. 

The celebration first began when the university community gathered in 1982 to award the Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship.  This annual event has expanded in scope, recognizing outstanding scholarship, research, service, leadership and activism among undergraduate, graduate, staff, and faculty women at The University of Iowa.  The celebration now also includes the awarding of the Distinguished Achievement Award, the Jean Y. Jew Women’s Rights Award, the Adele Kimm Scholarship, the Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Women’s Studies Scholarship, the Margaret P. Benson Memorial Scholarship and the Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship. 

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events.  If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to participate in this program, call 319-384-3435 in advance. ASL interpretation will be provided.

Distinguished Achievement Award
Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award
Other Award Applications
Celebration Committee Membership
Past Award Recipients (PDF File)

 Funding for this event is provided by the Chief Diversity Office
Please e-mail questions or comments to:

Site maintained by Information and Resource Management, Office of the Provost
Copyright © The University of Iowa. All rights reserved