The Distinguished Achievement Award

The Committee on the Celebration of Excellence Among Women is accepting nominations for the 2013-2014 Distinguished Achievement Award.  The Distinguished Achievement Award is awarded to a staff and faculty member who has distinguished herself or himself and the University through her or his accomplishments.  The award is given for an outstanding achievement or a lifetime record of service or achievement. The recipient may be affiliated with any part of the University. Candidates should have significant years of service within the University community in a professional or service capacity;their contributions should demonstrate significant impact through attributes such as leadership, innovation, and/or subject matter expertise; and should be considered role models for women and/or girls. The award complements other honors offered at this University by considering individuals in all areas of endeavor who have made a significant contribution at the local, national, or international level.  The award will be granted at the Annual Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women on April 10, 2014 at 3:00 p.m. in the Second Floor Ball Room, IMU.

To submit a nomination for the award, please complete the nomination form or call 335-6148 for a faxed copy of the form.  Please return nomination materials to Jan Warren via email to  no later than February 7, 2014.  The members of this year's nominating committee for the Distinguished Achievement Award are:  Alejandra Almazan, Linda Bolton, Sue Buckley, Carolyn Colvin, Marcella David, Monique DiCarlo, Mei-ling Joiner, Tong Li, Pat Mason-Browne, Jennifer Modestou, Michelene Pesantubbee, Tarrell Portman, Cheryl Reardon, Sharon Tucker, Jan Warren and Rachel Williams.


Distinguished Achievement Award
Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award
Other Award Applications
Celebration Committee Membership
Past Award Recipients (PDF File)

Please e-mail questions or comments to:

Site maintained by Information and Resource Management, Office of the Provost
Copyright The University of Iowa. All rights reserved