Skip to main content.
Facts at a Glance Facts at a Glance The University of Iowa

Historical Highlights: 1901-1930

1901—University students begin publishing The Daily Iowan, the first daily campus newspaper west of the Mississippi.

1905—Jacob Van der Zee becomes the first UI student to receive a Rhodes Scholarship, three years after the first awards were presented. By the mid 1990s, 17 other Iowa undergraduates will have been named Rhodes Scholars, including three recent Iowa-raised scholars: 1985 recipient Jeff McKinney of Chariton, 1993 recipient Andy Wildenberg of West Branch, and 1994 recipient Ali Husain of Knoxville.

1907—The School of Education establishes the first chair of pedagogy at a U.S. university.

1909—The American Association of Universities, a select group of research institutions that today numbers 54, elects The University of Iowa to membership.

1909—The university appoints to the faculty its first professional artist, Charles A. Cumming, who will become head of the Department of Fine Arts.

1913—Based on its academic quality, the Graduate College is ranked second among all state universities.

1914—Following a 1911 expedition to Laysan Island, the Zoological Museum (today known as the Museum of Natural History) designs one of the world's first habitat group exhibits—a detailed cyclorama that depicts hundreds of the island's birds and includes reproductions of 50,000 leaves.

1919—Iowa establishes a separate Department of Neurology, the oldest continuing program west of the Mississippi.

1919—Station 9YA, which will be named WSUI in 1925, begins regular broadcasts of news and recorded music—the first educational radio station west of the Mississippi.

1920's—The Department of Graphic and Plastic Arts becomes the first in the country to base appointments on a prospective professor's artistic abilities and portfolio quality.

1921—School of Music director Philip Greeley Clapp forms the University Symphony Orchestra, which will win acclaim as one of the finest groups of its kind.

1924—After the university's pioneering decision to accept creative work in lieu of academic theses from graduate students in the arts, Eve Drewelowe earns Iowa's first master of arts degree in painting.

1925—E. F. Lindquist joins the College of Education as a research assistant. The future director of the Iowa Testing Programs, Lindquist will develop the Iowa Tests of Basic Skills and the American College Testing (ACT) Program Tests, used by elementary and high school students in every state in the country.

1927—Iowa becomes the first state university to establish a school of religion.

1927—Psychology, previously part of the philosophy department curriculum, becomes a separate department. Dean Carl E. Seashore helps this field earn recognition as a serious science.