Time frames for bulk mailing

You can speed things up if you send your mailing list when you place your printing order. We will process it while the mailpieces are being printed. And tell us when you want your recipients to receive the mailing, so we can develop a production schedule.

Allow three days in Mailing Services—sometimes more, depending on the volume of your mailing and the kinds of processes that will be used. Using the timetable below, add the number of days the Postal Service needs to process and deliver your mailing. Do not include the holidays listed below as working days for the Postal Service.

Time nonprofit bulk mail will spend
in postal stream

Destination # working days
Local 2-3
State 4-5
Regional 5-7
National
(coast-to-coast)
7-10

2011 U.S. Postal Service holidays

Date Holiday
January 1, Saturday New Year’s Day
January 17, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., birthday
February 21, Monday George Washington’s birthday
May 30, Monday Memorial Day
July 4, Monday Independence Day
September 5, Monday Labor Day
October 10, Monday Columbus Day
November 11, Friday Veterans Day
November 24, Thursday Thanksgiving
December 26, Monday Christmas

UI Mailing Services
178 Mossman Business Services Bldg
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1602
central-mail@uiowa.edu