University of Iowa Bands

Hawkeye Marching Band


Whittney Seckar-Anderson is in her fourth season as the Hawkeye Marching Band Golden Girl. Whittney is from Oshkosh, Wisconsin. As a Highest Honor Roll student at Oshkosh West High School, she was a member of the O’Neil National Honor Society, Project West Mentoring Program, and Youth Leadership of Oshkosh. Whittney also performed as a member of the OWHS Wildcat Marching Band and Concert Band. She is majoring in Communications Studies, with additional studies in Political Science and Mass Communication.

Whittney is the 2011 Senior Miss Majorette of America. As a member of Team USA, she competed in Switzerland at the 2012 World Championships in the Senior Women's solo division and won the Bronze Medal. She was also a part of the Gold Medal-winning Parade Corps team. Recent titles include World Open Strut Champion, World Open Finals Strut Champion, and World Open Solo Champion. Whittney is the 2011 Miss Majorette of Wisconsin, the Wisconsin State Solo and Strut Champion, and the Wisconsin State Two-Baton Champion. This past April, Whittney competed at the 2015 World Championships in Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy. She served at the Captain of the “Touch of Silver” Twirling Corps and brought home the Gold Medal in both the Parade Corps and Twirling Corps divisions.

Former Hawkeye Marching Band Golden Girls, Feature Twirlers, and Baton Twirlers

2007-11  Chelsea Russell

2002-06  Diana Reed

1997-01  Julie Canterbury
1992-96  Tanya Pennock
1989-91  Gayl Anderson
1987-88  Jayna Sanchez, Gayl Anderson (Iowa Girl)
1986  Jayna Sanchez, Nikki Meredith
1982-85  Laurie Broderick 
1980-81  Linda Simon
1979  Marcy Goodwich-Volker, Mary Goodrich
1977-79  Jane Stemmerman
1973-76  Nancy Shaw
1970-72  Lani Jo Gill Flesch
1968-69  Mary Moffitt Foraker, Lani Jo Gill Flesch (the first “Golden Girl”)
1966-67  Mary Moffitt Foraker
1963-65  Bobbie Jean Foulkes
1960-61  Ann-Nita Ekstrom McDonald
1959  Ann-Nita Ekstrom McDonald, Margaret Rossi
1958  Ann-Nita Ekstrom McDonald, Lavonne Nolte
1955-57  Lavonne Nolte

(HMB alums: e-mail Kevin Kastens with the names of former HMB Golden Girls/Baton Twirlers so we can expand this list!)


From 1972 (l to r): Tom Leslie, Lani Jo Gill Flesch, and Steve Murphy