Organizational Chart

Departmental Flow Chart
Coordinating Committee
Advisory Board


The CBB Coordinating Committee is composed of representatives from eight university departments. It is the primary policy-making group of the CBB and meets regularly to discuss and advise on budgets as well as research and educational programs. CBB members in their respective departments elect representatives of the Coordinating Committee annually and they may serve a three-year period or more.

Current CBB Coordinating Committee
Faculty Member Department
Charles Brenner, Ph.D. Biochemistry
Blaise Boles, Ph.D. Microbiology
Robert Kerns, Ph.D. Medicinal & Natural Products Chemistry
Amnon Kohen, Ph.D. Chemistry
Tim Mattes, Ph.D. Civil & Environmental Engineering
Eric Nuxoll, Ph.D. Chemical & Biochemical Engineering
Tonya Peeples, Ph.D. Chemical & Biochemical Engineering
Dan Quinn, Ph.D. Chemistry
Mani Subramanian, Ph.D.

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering
Center for Biocatalysis & Bioprocessing


The CBB Advisory Board consists of distinguished academic and industrial scientists representing agrochemical, pharmaceutical, chemical and biotechnology industry. Board members attend the annual CBB conference to discuss the direction of the Center, its programs, and offer insights into ways the Center can best interact with industries through technology transfer. Board members also recommend topics for the annual conference, and sometimes serve as speakers.

Advisory Board
Board Members Affiliation
Thomas Binder President, ADM Research Division Archer Daniel Midland Company

Mervyn de Souza

Director of Technology and Innovation, BioPharma and Savory Flavors, Sensient Technologies

Lorenz Hasler

Senior Project Evaluation Manager, Globial Biological Operations, Lonza AG
Mickey Wells Director, Pharmaceutical Service, The University of Iowa
Debbie Yaver
Director, Novozymes, Inc.
Past Board Members Affiliation - current at time of posting and may not reflect their current position/affiliation
Douglas Cameron Chief Scientist, Biotechnology Development Center, Cargill Inc.
Arnold Demain Charles A Dana Research Institute, Drew University, National Academy of SciencesMember
Robert DiCosimo Senior Research Fellow, DuPont Central Research and Development
Randolph Greasham Director of Process Research, Merck
Steven J. Gould Chief Scientific Officer, Mera Pharmaceuticals
T. Kent Kirk Forest Products Fed Res. Labs, Dept Bacteriology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Member National Academy of Sciences
Hans Leuenberger Deputy Director, Central Research, Hoffmann LaRoche
Ashwin Madia Vice President for Biotechnology research, Cargill
Barry Marrs Director of Biotechnology, Hercules
Ellen L. McCormick Director, Pfizer Global Biologics
Saul Neidleman Neidleman Consulting
Peder Holk Nielsen Corporate Vice president for Enzyme Development & Industrial Biotechnology, Novo Nordisk
Ramesh N. Patel Process Research and Development, Bristol Myers Squibb
Nancy Platt Vice President for Research, Pioneer HiBred
Rolland Poust Director, Pharmaceutical Service, The University of Iowa
Karl Sanford Vice President for Technology Development, Genencor International
Jim Spain Air Force Research Laboratory, MLQL, Tyndall Air Force Base
Mani Subramanian Director, Biotechnology Division, Dow Chemical Company
Tim Tressel Director, Process and Analytical Sciences, Amgen, Inc.
Susan Truesdell Central Research and Development, Pfizer Inc.
James F White Senior Research Associate, Engelhard Corporation
Gregg Whited Genencor International
Vincent Witterholt Fellow and Distinguished Scientist, DuPont
Milton Zmijewski

Head, Biocatalysis Research, Eli Lilly

About CBB

CBB Milestones

Director's Message

Mission Statement

Organizational Chart

Job Openings

Contact Us