University of Iowa


Tuesday, October 5, 2004

3:30 p.m.

Penn State Room, 337 IMU



I.          Call to Order


II.         Approvals


A.    Meeting Agenda

B.    Faculty Council Minutes, August 24, 2004 (Attachment 1)

C.    Senate Agenda, October 19, 2004 (Attachment 2)

D.    Recommended Faculty Senate Replacements

      William Clarke (Biostatistics) will replace Thomas Cook (Occupational and Environmental Health), 2004-2006

      Judith Heggen (Pediatrics) will replace Howard Winfield (Urology), 2004-2005

      Kevin Leicht (Sociology) will replace Virginia Dominguez (Anthropology), Fall 2004

      Lance Lichtor (Anesthesia) will replace Andrew Robertson (Biochemistry), 2004-2007

      Beth Pelton (Health and Sports Medicine) will replace Gary Segura (Political Science), 2004-2006  

      Colby Swan (Civil-Environmental Engineer) will replace Keri Hornbuckle (Civil-Environmental Engineer), 2004-2005


III.       Report: Faculty Senate President, Katherine Tachau


IV.              New Business:


A.     Charge to Committee to Review Charter Committees

General Charter for University Committees (Attachment 3a)

Brief Descriptions of University and Senate Committees (Attachment 3b)

B.     Advice to University of Iowa Fiscal Responsibility ad hoc Committee


V.        From the floor


VI.       Announcements


A.     University Convocation, October 5, 7:30, Macbride Hall Auditorium

B.     Iowa AAUP Conference Meeting, October 9, 9:00, Iowa Room, 335 IMU

C.     NCAA President Myles Brand, October 12, Richey Ballroom, IMU

D.     President Skortonís Annual Address, October 13, 4:30, Main Ballroom, IMU

E.      Faculty Senate, October 19, 3:30-5:15, Lucas-Dodge Room 256 IMU

F.      Faculty Council, November 2, 3:30-5:15, South Room, 179 IMU


VII.      Adjournment