University of Iowa


Tuesday, November 16, 2004

3:30 p.m.

Penn State Room, 337 IMU



I.          Call to Order


II.         Approvals


A.    Meeting Agenda

B.    Faculty Council Minutes, October 5, 2004 (Attachment 1)

C.    Senate Agenda, November 30, 2004 (Attachment 2)

D.    Recommended Committee Replacements, Richard LeBlond

·   Conflict of Interest in Employment—Dan Clay (Psych & Quant Foundations) will replace Shruti Trehan (Internal Medicine), 2004-2006

·   Council on Teaching—Richard Fumerton (Philosophy) will replace Andrew Robertson (Biochemistry), 2004-2007

·   Faculty Policies & Compensation—Ed Dove (Biomedical Engineering) and Kathryn Gerken (Psych & Quant Foundations) will fill vacancies, 2004-2007

·   Financial Aid Advisory—Horace Porter (African American World Studies) will fill a vacancy, 2004-2007

·   Judicial Commission Panelists—Catherine Woodman (Dept. of Psychiatry) and Richard LeBlond (Internal Medicine) will fill vacancies, 2004-2007

·   Judicial Commission Mediators—Nick Colangelo (Belin-Blank Intl. Center), Linda Fielding (Curriculum & Instruction), Todd Pettys (Law), and Linda Snetselaar (Epidemiology) will fill vacancies, 2004-2007


III.       Report: Faculty Senate President, Katherine Tachau


IV.              New Business


A.     Proposed Policy on Intellectual Property, Bruce Wheaton and Grainne Martin (Attachment 3)

B.     Proposed Increase in Parking Rates, Dave Ricketts and Ray Haas (Attachment 4)

C.     Instructional Technology Fee Parity, Jessica Swanner (Attachment 5)

D.     Proposed Promotion and Tenure Revisions, Lee Anna Clark (Attachment 6)


V.        From the floor


VI.       Announcements


A.     Faculty Senate, November 30, 3:30-5:15, Terrace Dodge Room, 166 IMU

B.     Legislative Reception, December 8, 4:30-6:00, Sunporch IMU

C.     Faculty Council, January 18, 3:30-5:15, Penn State Room, 337 IMU


VII.      Adjournment