University of Iowa


Tuesday, January 17, 2006

3:30 p.m.

Penn State Room, 337 IMU



I. Call to Order


II. Approvals


A. Meeting Agenda

B. Faculty Council Minutes, November 15, 2005 (Attachment 1)

C. Committee on Committees, Sheldon Kurtz

        Diversity Committee: David Manderscheid (Mathematics) will replace Salome Raheim (2006-2008)

        Presidential Committee on Athletics: Steve McGuire (Curriculum & Instruction) will replace Judy Polumbaum (2005-2006)


III.               Report: Faculty Senate President, Richard LeBlond

A. Shared Governance Task Force Proposal

B. COIA Meeting, January 2-3, 2006

C. Presentation to Senate by VP for Research, February 7

D. Presentation to Senate, Working at Iowa, February 7


IV.              New Business


A. Honorary Degrees, John Scott (Attachment 2)

B. Program Reviews, Katherine Tachau (Attachment 3)

        UI Criteria for Institutional Enhancements and Reductions (

C. Special Compensation Plan, Ed Dove (Attachment 4)


V. From the floor


VI. Announcements


A.      Faculty Senate, February 7, Tippie Auditorium, W151 PBB

B.       Legislative Receptions, 4th Saturday of each month


VII. Adjournment