University of Iowa


Tuesday, September 7, 2004

3:30 p.m.

Lucas Dodge Room, 256 IMU




I.          Call to Order


II.         Approvals


A.    Faculty Senate Minutes, April 27, 2004 (Attachment 1)

B.    Recommended Replacements

      Julie Hochstrasser (Art & Art History) will replace Michael Kelleher (Pediatrics) on the Parking and Transportation Committee, 2004-2005

      Ed Wasserman (Psychology) will replace Paul Perry (Pharmacy) on the Presidentís Committee on Athletics, 2004-2009


III.       Reports


A.     Provostís Annual Address to the Faculty Senate, Michael J. Hogan

B.     Faculty Senate President, Katherine Tachau

C.     University Advocacy Task Force, Ed Dove


IV.              Unfinished Business: Revision of Promotion and Tenure Procedures, Lee Anna Clark

Guidelines for Promotion and Tenure (Attachment 2a)

Guidelines for Clinical Track Promotion (Attachment 2b)

Promotion & Tenure Flow Chart (Attachment 2c)

Clinical Track Promotion Flow Chart (Attachment 2d)


V.                 New Business: GEF Task Force Benefits Recommendations, Sue Buckley (Attachment 3)


VI.       From the floor


VII.      Announcements


A.  University Convocation, October 5, 7:30, Macbride Hall Auditorium

B.   NCAA President Myles Brand, October 12, 2:00, Terrace Room IMU

C.  Faculty Senate, October 19, 3:30-5:15, Lucas-Dodge Room, 256 IMU


VIII.     Adjournment