University of Iowa


Tuesday, February 6, 2007

3:30- 5:15 pm

Senate Chamber, Old Capitol



I.        Call to Order


II.       Approvals


A.   Meeting Agenda

B.   Faculty Senate Minutes: November 28, 2006 (Attachment 1) and Extraordinary Session, December 12, 2006 (Attachment 2)

C.    Replacements (Victoria Sharp) 

·         Sue Moorhead to serve as Nursing representative on Faculty Council in Gloria Bulechek’s absence during Spring semester 2007

D.         Faculty Senate Elections, Richard LeBlond (Attachment 3)


      III.    Guest Speaker:  Ms. Lynette Marshall, President, UI Foundation


IV.      Reports


A.     Faculty Senate President, Sheldon Kurtz

B.      Council on Teaching amendments to the Ops Manual, Mark Young, Chair,

Council on Teaching (Attachment 4)

C.     Revisions to Collegiate, Departmental and Program Reviews, Mike O’Hara, Chair, Faculty Policy and Compensation Committee (Attachment 5)

D.     Smoking Policy update – Susan Johnson, Associate Provost for Faculty  Committee Co-chair (Attachment 6) (Attachment 7)

E.      Fund Solicitation, revisions to Ops Manual, Susan Johnson  (Attachment 8 )

F.      “Roads Scholar” program update – Professors Downing Thomas and Steve McGuire

G.     Performance Review - Maureen McCormick, Director, UI Learning and Development (Attachment 9 ) (Attachment 10)


    V.        Announcements

A.     Faculty Senate nominations sought February 9 – 17, 2007

B.      Faculty Senate elections March 2 – 10, 2007

C.     Faculty Council elections March 23 – 31, 2007

a.      Faculty volunteers sought for IPTV annual fundraising event (Saturday, March 3, 12:30 - 6:30 pm, Johnston, IA)

b.      Charter and Non-Charter Committee Recruitment, Deadline:  Wed., Feb 28, 2007

c.      Nominations sought for Michael J. Brody award, Deadline:  Monday, Feb. 26, 2007

D.     Next Faculty Senate Meeting, March 20, Senate Chambers, Old Capitol


VI.                       Adjournment



Senate Members & Guests: Please sign the attendance list before leaving the meeting.