University of Iowa


Tuesday, October 17, 2006

3:30- 5:15 pm

Senate Chamber, Old Capitol




I.          Call to Order


II.         Approvals


A.    Meeting Agenda 

B.    Faculty Senate Minutes, September 5, 2006 (Attachment 1)

C.      Committee Replacement, Victoria Sharp, Committee on Committees


·         Human Rights Charter Committee: Astrid Oesmann, German, to replace Gerard Byrne, Prosthodontics (2006-09)


                   D.   Senate Replacement, Sheldon Kurtz, President


§         CLAS – Group 1: Kimberley Marra, Theatre Arts, to replace Carin Green on an interim basis during her leave of absence (2006-07)

§         Medicine (non-tenured):  Dr. Andre Boezaart, Anesthesiology, to replace Dr. John Sutphin, Ophthalmology


E.      Council Replacement, Sheldon Kurtz, President

§         Kathy Schuh, Psychological & Quantitative Foundations, to replace Steve McGuire on the Faculty Council during his development leave (spring semester 2007)


III.       Reports


A.     Faculty Senate President, Sheldon Kurtz

·         Interim President Fethke’s response to Directory Information for UI Employees (Attachment 2)


B.     Engagement Corps – Professor Downing Thomas, Professor Steve McGuire and Jane Van Voorhis, former Program Associate in the Office of the President (Attachment 4)


C.     Work at Iowa Faculty-Staff Survey, Laura Reed, Associate Director, Human Resources (Attachment 3)


D.     Guest Speaker: Gary Barta, Director, UI Athletics, “Responsibilities of the Athletic Director to a major research university.”


VI.             New Business


VII.            From the floor


VIII.           Announcements

·         Faculty Senate Meeting: November 28, Senate Chambers, Old Capitol


IX.           Adjournment