University of Iowa


Tuesday, September 5, 2006

3:30- 5:15 pm

Senate Chamber, Old Capitol



I.          Call to Order


II.         Approvals


A.    Meeting Agenda


B.   Faculty Senate Minutes, April 25, 2006 (Attachment 1A) and Organizational Meeting Minutes, April 25, 2006 (Attachment 1B)


C.   Committee Replacement, Victoria Sharp

 a. Parking Appeals Committee: Bryce Plapp, Biochemistry, to  

     replace Naeem Haider, Anesthesia, 2006-08

 b. Information Technology Advisory Committee: Victoria Sharp,

     Urology, interim member during the leave of Carin Green, Fall

     Semester 2006.


D.    Honorary Degree Selection Committee (Attachment 2),    

       Sheldon Kurtz

  a.   Nominations from the Faculty Senate


E.           Senate Replacements, Sheldon Kurtz


a.  College of Public Health

                          Larry Robertson, Professor, Occupational and 

                          Environmental Health 

                          Brian Kaskie, Assistant Professor, Health Management and



            Extract from Faculty Senate Bylaws:

6. Vacancies.

A. Vacancies arising between elections. Vacancies on both the Senate and the Council which arise between annual elections are filled by the Senate from eligible members of the constituency affected for a term expiring June 30 following the next annual election.


 b. Bylaw revision of the Vacancy rule


 c.  Announcement: need for members on the Faculty Judicial 

     Commission from Colleges of Education, Pharmacy and 

     Public Health. Volunteers/nominations sought.


III.       Reports


    A.     Faculty Senate President, Sheldon Kurtz

   Diversity Action Committee, Marcella David, Special Assistant to

the President for Equal Opportunity and Diversity and Associate

Provost (Attachment 3, refer to Faculty and Staff Recommendations

8-15,  pages 15- 22 in the on-line version)

   Sexual Harassment Survey and Report Lee Anna Clark, Psychology

and primary co-author (Attachment 4; refer to Executive Summary,

page vii and Recommendations, page 93) 

   Programmatic Reviews, Pat Cain, Vice Provost


    VI.    New Business

     A.     Photo Identification Policy, Jay Christensen-Szalanski, Management and Organizations, and Josephine Bathke, Assistant Counsel, General Counsel's Office (Attachment 5)

     B.     Directory Restrictions Proposal, Jay Christensen-Szalanski and Josephine Bathke,(Attachment 6)


   VII.   From the floor


   VIII.  Announcements

           A.      Next Faculty Senate Meeting, October 17, Senate Chambers,  

                 Old Capitol


    IX.   Adjournment