Annual Report to the Faculty Senate

Committee on Committees



Committee Chair:  Richard LeBlond


Committee Members:  Clai Dungy, Vicki Grassian, Teresa Mangum, George Neuman, Margaret Raymond, Mathew Rizzo, Katherine Tachau


Committee Charge:   The Committee on Committees recommends to the Council, and then to the Senate, the names of faculty members to fill positions on general University committees (see University of Iowa Operations Manual 10.066-10.236), the Faculty Judicial Commission (see University of Iowa Operation Manual 20.262), and all the committees of the Senate except the Committee on Committees itself. The names of those whom the Senate approves for general University committees and the Faculty Judicial Commission are transmitted to the President of the University. The faculty members whom the Senate approves for committees of the Senate are appointed by the president of the Senate, who also appoints the members of the committee on Committees. Nominations for committees of the Senate, general University committees, and the faculty Judicial Commission are normally presented to the Council and the Senate in April of each year, but the Committee may make nominations at other times.


Meeting Dates:  October 21, 2004, January 28, 2005, March 24, 2005


Activities:  At the October 21, 2004 meeting the committee selected nominees to fill vacancies on the Judicial Commission, including both mediators and panelists, the Conflict of Interest in Employment Committee, the Council on Teaching, the Financial Aid Advisory Committee, and the Faculty Policies and Compensation Committee. We discussed the need for gender balance on the committees. We also started a discussion about how to identify resources for training faculty for the Judicial Commission in mediation skills. Potential resources are the University Counsel, Randal Nye, Kevin Ward and the Ombuds office.

                        At the January 28, 2005 meeting the committee reviewed the method of soliciting volunteers for service on the faculty senate and council and the senate and charter committees. It was decided to do this electronically this year. The solicitation letter was reviewed and revised under the direction of Prof. Mangum. The Awards Committee will be constituted with the next academic year. In addition appointments were recommended to the Council on Teaching and the Senate Government Relations Committee.

                        The March 24, 2005 meeting reviewed all of the faculty volunteers for each committee (up to three committees selected for each faculty member), the vacancies on the Charter, Senate and Special Committees and the charges and composition of each committee. Nominees and alternates were then selected for each vacancy trying to match the committee needs and the faculty preferences. The nominees were contacted to confirm their willingness to serve. The slate of nominees was taken to the Council and Senate at their April meetings.


Final Conclusions:  The Committee had a busy and successful year. The challenge of soliciting and obtaining faculty participation in university and faculty governance remains a challenge. It appeared that we had a decrease in volunteers using the electronic format for solicitation. However, faculty with an expressed interest in service were overwhelmingly willing to assume committee assignments, even when not their first choice.


Recommendations to the Senate:    

1.  Continue electronic solicitation, but consider ways to enhance faculty volunteerism in self-government.

2.  Explore options and develop a program for training faculty mediators on the Judicial Commission.


Respectfully submitted:


Richard LeBlond