fyi logo
December 8, 2000
Volume 38, No. 8


Achieving Marital Utopia
America's poet of comrades: Walt Whitman in China
Pharmacy emphasizes people skills with patient counseling tourney
Herky proves a light-headed mascot
InSite: Hardin Meta Directory keeps winning prizes

news and briefs

News Briefs
Human Rights Week 2001 events include lectures, films, convocation
Speech specialist, musician to give Presidential Lecture
Affirmative Action says Iowa better than reported
Longevity Awards presented for December


Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses
Pubs. and Creations
Committee seeks input from UI during Office of the Provost review
Fund-raising dinner benefits women's organizations
Public Safety joins holiday campaign
Nominations sought for disability achievement award

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Staff Development Courses

The University of Iowa Homepage

Office and Awards

Lee Alward, professor of ophthalmology and service director of the UI Glaucoma Clinic, reappointed to a five-year term on the editorial board of the American Journal of Ophthalmology.

Sam Becker, professor emeritus of communication studies, recipient of the Mentor Award from the National Communication Association.

Amitava Bhattacharjee, professor of physics, one of 20 physicists worldwide elected to fellowship in the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Joseph A. Buckwalter, professor and head of orthopaedic surgery, named president of the American Orthopaedic Association.

Kevin Campbell, professor of neurology and Roy J. Carver Chair of Physiology and Biophysics, recipient of the G. Conte Prize for Basic Research from the Gaetano Conte Academy.

Caroline Carney, assistant professor of psychiatry, reelected to a three-year term as a national councilor of the Association of Medicine and Psychiatry.

Kevin Dellsperger, associate dean for veteran affairs in the College of Medicine and chief of staff at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, named governor-elect for Iowa of the American College of Cardiology.

Anne Dipardo, associate professor of English, recipient of the Richard A. Meade Award from the National Council of Teachers of English for her book, Teaching in Common: Challenges to Joint Work in Classrooms and Schools.

Jane Gay, codirector of the Iowa Program for Assistive Technology and director of Iowa COMPASS, appointed to the disabilities chapter of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Committee on Healthy People 2010.

R. Edward Howell, CEO and director of UI Hospitals and Clinics, named chair of the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education; recipient of a distinguished service membership award from the Association of American Medical Colleges and the Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems.

Michael P. Jones, professor of biostatistics, appointed Jannsen Research Foundation chair in survival analysis, May-June 2000.

Robert Newman, adjunct professor of communication studies, recipient of a Distinguished Scholar Award from the National Communication Association.

John Peters, associate professor of communication studies, recipient of the James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address from the National Communication Association for his book, Speaking into the Air: A History of the Idea of Communication.


[ return to top ] [ home ]