fyi logo
March 7, 2003
Volume 40, No. 8


Iowa Writers' Workshop brings home national honor
David Skorton becomes president
On first day, president reorganizes administration
Athletics pays University offices $9.3 million
Redefining 'respect' to combat sexual assaults
Bottling pathogens to keep farms safe

news and briefs

News Briefs
Celebration of Excellence honors Mary Hendrix, gives six awards
16 win Collegiate Teaching Awards
Global scholars win travel, time
Catalyst nominations sought
Five are named Faculty Scholars
Career development awards approved for 2003-04
Longevity awards given to 21 employees
UI police offer rape information packet


Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses
Pubs. and Creations
Applications due for tuition programs

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Staff Development Courses

The University of Iowa Homepage

Celebration of Excellence to honor Mary Hendrix, give six awards

Mary Hendrix, professor and head of anatomy and cell biology, will receive the Distinguished Achievement Award at this year’s Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women. The University of Iowa’s annual tribute to the accomplishments of all women at the University will begin with a reception at 4 p.m. March 31 in the IMU Main Lounge, followed by the program at 4:30 p.m. The program is free and open to the public.

In addition to the presentation of the Distinguished Achievement Award, recipients of the following scholarships and awards will be announced:

The Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship is named in honor of Jane Weiss, an assistant professor of women’s studies and sociology until her death in 1981. The award is made to doctoral students whose dissertations promise to expand understanding of important women’s issues.

The Adele Kimm Scholarship is given each year to a deserving student in the Department of Women’s Studies.

The Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Fellowship is named in honor of two Iowa graduates who are among the first African American and Latina women to be found in University records. The award is given alternate years to an undergraduate or a graduate woman student of color.

The Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship was established by the late University of Iowa Vice President Emeritus Philip G. Hubbard in memory of his wife. The award is given each year to an African American woman with a grade-point average of 3.0 or above who demonstrates an unusual interest in the well-being of others.

The Jean Y. Jew Women’s Rights Award is named for Jean Y. Jew, professor of anatomy, who fought an uphill battle for more than a decade to defend herself against slander and sexual harassment from faculty in her department, a struggle that she ultimately won. Given annually by the Council on the Status of Women and the Women’s Resource and Action Center (WRAC), the award honors a faculty, staff or student member of the University community who has demonstrated effort or achievement in improving the status of women on campus.

The Margaret P. Benson Memorial Scholarship was created by a designated bequest to the University of Iowa Foundation to recognize qualified female applicants who demonstrate financial need and are committed to women’s issues, diversity, and social activism. One or two awards are available each year.


[ return to top ] [ home ]