fyi logo
March 7, 2003
Volume 40, No. 8


Iowa Writers' Workshop brings home national honor
David Skorton becomes president
On first day, president reorganizes administration
Athletics pays University offices $9.3 million
Redefining 'respect' to combat sexual assaults
Bottling pathogens to keep farms safe

news and briefs

News Briefs
Celebration of Excellence honors Mary Hendrix, gives six awards
16 win Collegiate Teaching Awards
Global scholars win travel, time
Catalyst nominations sought
Five are named Faculty Scholars
Career development awards approved for 2003-04
Longevity awards given to 21 employees
UI police offer rape information packet


Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses
Pubs. and Creations
Applications due for tuition programs

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Staff Development Courses

The University of Iowa Homepage

Global Scholars win travel, time

Janine Sawada Lea Vandervelde
Janine Sawada Lea Vandervelde

Two University of Iowa faculty members have been named 2003 Global Scholars.

Recipients of the Global Scholar award are released from half their usual teaching, advising, administrative, and service obligations for two consecutive years. It is a developmental award for one semester each year, part of which will be spent in one or more foreign countries. Up to two Global Scholar awards may be made annually for a total of four scholars in any given year.

Janine Sawada is an associate professor of religious studies in the field of Japanese religious and intellectual history, especially popular movements of early modern Japan. She will research the comparative history of pilgrimage culture, focusing on Edo (Tokyo) and Rome, Italy, during the late 18th and early 19th centuries.

Lea VanderVelde, Josephine Witte professor of law and an expert in American legal history and employment law, will research several issues of global labor migration and human trafficking for the purposes of finding work.



[ return to top ] [ home ]