fyi logo
March 7, 2003
Volume 40, No. 8


Iowa Writers' Workshop brings home national honor
David Skorton becomes president
On first day, president reorganizes administration
Athletics pays University offices $9.3 million
Redefining 'respect' to combat sexual assaults
Bottling pathogens to keep farms safe

news and briefs

News Briefs
Celebration of Excellence honors Mary Hendrix, gives six awards
16 win Collegiate Teaching Awards
Global scholars win travel, time
Catalyst nominations sought
Five are named Faculty Scholars
Career development awards approved for 2003-04
Longevity awards given to 21 employees
UI police offer rape information packet


Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses
Pubs. and Creations
Applications due for tuition programs

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Staff Development Courses

The University of Iowa Homepage

Longevity awards given to 21 employees

Staff Council's service recognition program acknowledges all P&S and Merit staff who have reached 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 years of continuous service. A portion of the Coca-Cola funds allocated to Staff Council funds the Longevity Award program. Winners receive a certificate and letter of appreciation from the President's Office during their anniversary month. Award-winners for February are listed below.

25 years

  • Eric M. Corbin, Education Media Service
  • Thomas Francis Gahan, Hygienic Laboratory
  • Dave Allen Huling, Pathology
  • Phillip A. Lindley, Facility Operations and Maintenance
  • Julie M. Mather, Library Administration
  • Linda M. Noble, Parking and Transportation
  • Marilyn C. Paetz, Preventive and Community Dentistry
  • Julie Paulson Happel, Pathology
  • Albina L. Querrey, Nursing Services
  • Linda J. Young, Nursing Services

30 years

  • Gail Lora Conner, Admissions
  • Sandra K. Herwig, Printing Department Services
  • Nancy K. Lane-Gipson, Rehabilitation Therapies
  • Nancy Liggett, Fiscal Services
  • Gay Mikelson, Management and Organizations
  • Jerry A. Slezak, Parking and Transportation
  • Steven D. Thomae, Facilities Services Group
  • Judith E. Wacha, Radiation Oncology

35 years  

  • Kay R. Nunnally, Food and Nutrition Services
  • Virginia A. Travis, Counseling, Rehabilitation, and Student Development

40 years

  • Mary E. Schnoes, Ambulatory Care Clinics



[ return to top ] [ home ]