fyi logo
March 7, 2003
Volume 40, No. 8


Iowa Writers' Workshop brings home national honor
David Skorton becomes president
On first day, president reorganizes administration
Athletics pays University offices $9.3 million
Redefining 'respect' to combat sexual assaults
Bottling pathogens to keep farms safe

news and briefs

News Briefs
Celebration of Excellence honors Mary Hendrix, gives six awards
16 win Collegiate Teaching Awards
Global scholars win travel, time
Catalyst nominations sought
Five are named Faculty Scholars
Career development awards approved for 2003-04
Longevity awards given to 21 employees
UI police offer rape information packet


Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses
Pubs. and Creations
Applications due for tuition programs

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Staff Development Courses

The University of Iowa Homepage

Offices and Awards

Nancy Andreasen, professor of psychiatry, inducted into the Association of American Physicians.

Willard "Sandy" Boyd, professor of law, appointed to the Cultural Property Advisory committee, a board that will advise the U.S. president on issues relating to the importation of material considered important to other national cultures.

Sam Burer, assistant professor of management sciences, recipient of the 2002 Optimization Prize for Young Researchers from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences.

Gary Christensen, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, appointed as one of two technical program chairs for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers' international symposium on biomedical imaging in April 2004.

Marsha Cunningham-Ford, associate professor of preventive and community dentistry, recipient of the 2003 ADEA/Glaxo-SmithKline Excellence in Teaching Award from the American Dental Education Association.

Sohan Hayreh, professor emeritus of ophthalmology, recipient of the 2003 Mildred Weisenfeld Award for Excellence in Ophthalmology from the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

Mary Hendrix, professor of anatomy and cell biology, inaugurated as president of the Association of Anatomy, Cell Biology, and Neurobiology Chairpersons and selected to be a member of the Association of American Medical Colleges' advisory panel on research.

Keela Herr, professor of adult and gerontological nursing, recipient of the 2003 Nurse Exemplar Award from the American Society of Pain Management Nurses.

David Hussey, professor emeritus of radiology, named chair of the Radiological Society of North America.

Lisa Kelley, assistant professor of nursing, selected as a 2003-2005 "Building Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity Scholar" by the John A. Hartford Foundation.

Witold Krajewski, professor of civil and environmental engineering, elected as a fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

John Lundell, deputy director, Injury Prevention Research Center, College of Public Health, appointed to a National Academy of Science research review panel.

Nicki Markovetz, clinical instructor of nursing, appointed to the executive committee of the Great Plains Organization for Perinatal Health Care.

Susan Schechter, clinical professor of social work, recipient of the Award for Leadership in Public Child Welfare from the National Association of Public Child Welfare Administrators.

Anne Helene Skinstad, assistant professor of community and behavioral health, elected to a two-year term as chair of the national liaison committee for Addiction Technology Transfer Centers and the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Richard Sontheimer, professor of dermatology, inducted into the Association of American Physicians.

Nancy Thompson, associate professor of community and behavioral health, selected as Dental Hygienist of the Year by the Iowa Dental Hygienists' Association.

Larry Tobacman, professor of internal medicine and biochemistry, inducted into the Association of American Physicians.

University of Iowa Press, honored for publishing Mountains of Memory: A Fire Lookout's Life in the River of No Return Wilderness by Don Scheese, selected by Choice Magazine as an Outstanding Academic Title for 2003.


[ return to top ] [ home ]