fyi logo
September 6, 2002
Volume 40, No. 2


Engineering graduate: clarinet legend
Hospitals and Clinics leader believes in listening
Faculty, staff vital to success of University's fundraising campaign
Pediatric nurse practitioners include family in treatment

news and briefs

News Briefs
Search forum scheduled
Provost Whitmore resigns
Campus, Community events to remember Sept. 11 tragedy
Criteria for faculty promotion and tenure
August Longevity Awards announced


Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses
Pubs. and Creations
Applications due for tuition programs

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Staff Development Courses

The University of Iowa Homepage

Offices and Awards

Linda Abbott, advanced practice nurse, Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center, elected to the board of directors of the Oncology Nursing Society.

Steven Aquilino, professor of prosthodontics, recipient of an honorable mention in the American Dental Education Association’s educational computing competition.

Nancy C. Andreasen, professor of psychiatry, recipient of an honorable mention in the psychology category from the Professional/Scholarly Publishing Division of the Association of American Publishers for her book, Brave New Brain: Conquering Mental Illness in the Era of the Genome.

Kelley Donham, professor of occupational and environmental health, recipient of the Helwig-Jennings Award from the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine.

Joel Gordon, associate professor of internal medicine, recipient
of the Laureate Award from the Iowa chapter of the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

Tim Hagle, associate professor of political science, appointed by President Bush to a committee that will put together a history of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Charmaine Kleiber, advanced practice nurse, Children’s Hospital of Iowa, inducted as fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

Raymond Kuthy, professor of preventive and community dentistry, named president-elect of the American Board of Dental Public Health.

Jean Lantz, director of student programs and records, College of Medicine, elected chair of the Central Region Group on Student Affairs of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

John Lundell, deputy director of the Injury Prevention Research Center, elected secretary of the Injury Control and Emergency Health Services Section of the American Association of Public Health.

Kenneth Murphy, associate professor of biochemistry, named fellow of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

The College of Nursing, selected as the second-place winner of the American Academy of Colleges of Nursing/Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing Award for Exceptional Baccalaureate Curriculum in Gerontologic Nursing.

Larry Prybil, associate dean for external relations, College of Public Health, appointed to a joint task force on accreditation cosponsored by the Accrediting Commission on Education for Health Services Administration and the National Center for Healthcare Leadership.

Risto Rautiainen, deputy director of the Great Plains Center for Agricultural Health, recipient of an outstanding-contribution award from the National Institute for Farm Safety for an article he coauthored on farm-safety programs.

Erik Samuelson, program assistant, Cardiovascular Rehabilitation Program, selected as fellow of the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation.

School Psychology Program, College of Education, recipient of the 2002 Suinn Minority Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association.

Christopher Squier, associate dean for research, College of Dentistry, appointed to the Iowa Commission on Tobacco Use and Control.

Lee Vasquez, program consultant, Business Services, sworn in as president of the central region of the National Association of College Auxiliary Services.

Michael Wall, professor of neurology and ophthalmology and visual sciences, elected president of the International Perimetric Society.


[ return to top ] [ home ]