skip to content skip to navigation

fyi logo

February 4, 2005
Volume 42, No. 7


Small Wonder: Scientists explore the brave new (little) world of nanoscience
Grand re-opening reveals new and improved Burge
Hawkeye docs and trainers think fast and score with lifesaving move at football game dinner
Staff orientation offers some new tidbits for old-timers

news and briefs

News Briefs
Faculty, Global Scholars announced
Distinguished UI scholar of human rights to deliver annual Presidential Lecture
Nine receive Instructional Improvement Awards

January Longevity Awards



Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Publications and Creations

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Learning and Development Courses

The University of Iowa

The University of Iowa

Offices and Awards


Heriberto Godina, curriculum and instruction, named by Iowa First Lady Christie Vilsack to her Stories 2000 Board of Directors.

Kim Gordon, occupational and environmental health, elected to the Board of Directors for the American Association of Occupational Health Nurses.

Linda K. Kerber, history and law, voted president-elect of the American Historical Association, the country’s largest and oldest organization for professional historians.

Neal Kohatsu, epidemiology, appointed by the Governor of Iowa to the Iowa Food Policy Council.

William S. Kurth, physics and astronomy, elected secretary of the Space Physics and Aeronomy Solar and Heliospheric Physics Section of the American Geophysical Union.

University of Iowa Foundation, recipient of several awards from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education District V “Pride of CASE V” competition—gold awards in the annual report and special event invitations and collateral material categories, and silver and bronze awards in the print advertising category.

University of Iowa Press, publisher of two books named outstanding academic titles by Choice magazine, a publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. The honored books are Tell This Silence: Asian American Women Writers and the Politics of Speech by Patti Duncan and Looking Glasses and Neverlands: Lacan, Desire, and Subjectivity in Children’s Literature by Karen Coats.



Published by University Relations Publications. Copyright The University of Iowa 2005. All rights reserved.


Back to top    Home


The University of Iowa University Relations Publications The University of Iowa