skip to content skip to navigation

fyi logo

April 1, 2005
Volume 42, No. 9


Native Exposure
Iowa's way with words
Sign language interpreters lend more than a hand

news and briefs

News Briefs
Three win top UI teaching award
New strategic plan promises more diversity, engagement
Annual tribute to women recognizes achievement
Who are the givers among us?

March Longevity Awards




Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Defenses

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Learning and Development Courses

The University of Iowa

The University of Iowa

Annual tribute to women recognizes achievement


“A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women” on March 29 included presentation of the UI Distinguished Achievement Award to Kitty Buckwalter, UI Foundation Distinguished Professor of Nursing, and Maile Sagen, University ombudsperson.

Buckwalter is associate director of the Gerontological Nursing Interventions Research Center. Sagen has served the University and its community as ombudsperson since 1989.

The Jean Y. Jew Women’s Rights Award was given to Jill Vibhakar, assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology.

Several scholarship winners also were announced.

The Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Sonja Hidalgo-Nunez, a PhD student in Spanish and Portuguese.

The Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship was awarded to Paris Ivory, an undergraduate in finance and management.

The Margaret P. Benson Memorial Scholarship was presented to two recipients: Molly M. Cantrell-Kraig, a BFA student in art and art history, and Tiitsetso Russell, a PhD student in the College of Education.



Published by University Relations Publications. Copyright The University of Iowa 2005. All rights reserved.


Back to top    Home


The University of Iowa University Relations Publications The University of Iowa