skip to content skip to navigation

fyi logo

April 1, 2005
Volume 42, No. 9


Native Exposure
Iowa's way with words
Sign language interpreters lend more than a hand

news and briefs

News Briefs
Three win top UI teaching award
New strategic plan promises more diversity, engagement
Annual tribute to women recognizes achievement
Who are the givers among us?

March Longevity Awards




Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Defenses

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Learning and Development Courses

The University of Iowa

The University of Iowa

Offices and Awards


Brad Allison, public safety, elected president of the Iowa Crime Prevention Association.

Rick Altman, cinema and comparative literature, recipient of the Limina Award from the Udine Conference for his book Silent Film Sound.

Joseph Cavanaugh, biostatistics, appointed associate editor for the reviews section of The Journal of the American Statistical Association and The American Statistician.

Stephen Dunbar, Iowa Testing Programs, named to National Academy of Sciences’ Board on Testing and Assessment.

Julie Hochstrasser, art and art history, elected to the executive board of the Historians of Netherlandish Art.

Neal Kohatsu, epidemiology, elected president of the American College of Preventive Medicine.

George “Geordie” Lawry, internal medicine, recipient of the 2005 Laureate Award, given by the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians.

Larry Weber, civil and environmental engineering, appointed to the science panel of the Upper Mississippi River System Navigation and Ecosystem Sustainability Program.  



Published by University Relations Publications. Copyright The University of Iowa 2005. All rights reserved.


Back to top    Home


The University of Iowa University Relations Publications The University of Iowa