skip to content skip to navigation

fyi logo

October 1, 2004
Volume 42, No. 3


Spokesperson: UI employee speaks out, cycles for cancer cure
"It was 50 years ago today..." In the time of soda fourntains and polio, Iowa nabbed Willard Boyd
Campus employees try to balance politics, civility

news and briefs

News Briefs
Promotion and tenure information available online
Committee solicits input regarding general counsel
Salaries indicated as a major factor in faculty resignations
ITS: Campus computer security still a big concern
Poet wins Capote award
UI Press to bring out two works of winning fiction

September Longevity Awards



Bulletin Board

Offices and Awards

Ph.D. Thesis Defenses

other links

TIAA Cref Unit Values

Learning and Development Courses

The University of Iowa

The University of Iowa

Poet wins Capote award

Photo: Susan Stewart
Susan Stewart Photo by Robert E. Dias

Poetry and the Fate of the Senses, by poet/critic Susan Stewart of Princeton University, is the recipient of the 2004 Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism in Memory of Newton Arvin.

The $50,000 Capote award, the largest annual cash prize for literary criticism in the English language, is administered for the Truman Capote estate by the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

Stewart received the prize Sept. 17 at the IMU.

Poetry and the Fate of the Senses examines the role of the senses in the creation and reception of poetry. And it also traces the path of the aesthetic experience in search of an explanation for the role of poetry in the creation of the shared meaning that is fundamental to cultural identity.

Stewart’s book, which was published by the University of Chicago Press in 2002, was selected for the Capote Award by an international panel of prominent critics and writers—Terry Castle, Garrett Stewart, Michael Wood, John Kerrigan, Elaine Scarry, and William Gass—each of whom nominated two books.

Books of general literary criticism in English, published during the last four years, are eligible for nomination. After reading all the nominated books, each critic ranked the nominees, and the winner was determined by a tally of the votes. The panelists’ choices were reviewed and confirmed by Frank Conroy, director of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

Stewart’s other books of criticism include On Longing: Narratives of the Miniature, the Gigantic, the Souvenir, the Collection; Crimes of Writing: Problems in the Containment of Representation; and Nonsense. Her collected essays on art, The Open Studio: Essays in Art and Aesthetics, is forthcoming from the University of Chicago Press.

Stewart, who teaches the history of poetry and aesthetics at Princeton University, is the recipient of a Lila Wallace Individual Writer’s Award, two grants in poetry from the National Endowment in the Arts, a Pew Fellowship for the Arts, and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the MacArthur Foundation.

Past winners of the Capote award include British scholar P.N. Fairbank; Helen Vendler of Harvard University; John Felstiner of Stanford University; John Kerrigan of Cambridge University; pianist/scholar Charles Rosen of the University of Chicago; Malcolm Bowie of Oxford University; and Irish Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney.

In addition to the administration of the literary criticism award, the Iowa Writers’ Workshop involvement with the trust includes the awarding of Truman Capote Fellowships to UI students in creative writing.

by Winston Barclay


Published by University Relations Publications. Copyright the University of Iowa 2003. All rights reserved.


Back to top    Home


University Relations Publications The University of Iowa