Website Banner showing a medieval classroom

Medieval Faculty

This is an interdisciplinary list of the faculty members at the University of Iowa who work in the area of medieval studies. Click on the names to be directed to each faculty member's home page.

Department of History | Department of English | College of Law | Department of German | School of Art and Art History | Department of French and Italian | Department of Spanish and Portuguese |



Department of History


Berman Headshot

Constance H. Berman

constance-berman@uiowa.edu
Medieval social, economic, religious and women's history. (France and Italy)


Kamerick Headshot

Kathleen Kamerick

kathleen-kamerick@uiowa.edu
Gender and religious culture of northern Europe in the late Middle Ages. History of the book.


Moore Headshot

Michael E. Moore

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu
Ecclesiastical, legal and scholarly traditions of medieval Europe. Formation of early medieval political culture and kingship.


Tachau Headshot

Katherine H. Tachau

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu
Histories of medieval science, philosophy, and religious thought (with special emphasis on their development at the thirteenth- and fourteenth-century medieval universities).


Department of English


Hamilton Headshot

David Hamilton

david-hamilton@uiowa.edu
Chaucer, medieval and early modern poetry.


Lavezzo Headshot

Kathy Lavezzo

kathy-lavezzo@uiowa.edu
Medieval literary studies with special attention to issues of community and social hierarchy; cultural geography; race and ethnicity; and gender and sexuality.


Sponsler Headshot

Claire Sponsler

claire-sponsler@uiowa.edu
Medieval literature, with a special interest in performance and cultural studies.


Wilcox Headshot

Jonathan Wilcox

jonathan-wilcox@uiowa.edu
Anglo-Saxon Christian culture and intellectual history; history of gestures and emotions.



College of Law


Gallanis Headshot

Thomas P. Gallanis

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu
English and European legal history.



Department of German


Ehrstine Headshot

Glenn Ehrstine

glenn-ehrstine@uiowa.edu
German literature, ca. 1200-1600



School of Art and Art History


Bork Headshot

Robert Bork

robert-bork@uiowa.edu
Medieval and northern Renaissance art, especially Gothic architecture.



Department of French and Italian


Deborah Contrada

deborah-contrada@uiowa.edu
Medieval lyric poetry and female Italian writers.



Department of Spanish and Portuguese


Filios Headshot

Denise K. Filios

denise-filios@uiowa.edu
Medieval Spanish literature, women in literature, performance, and North African-Spanish cultural contacts from 711 to the present.