Website
            Banner showing a group of people working and relaxing in a            garden

Graduate Students

This is an interdisciplinary list of the graduate students at the University of Iowa who work in the area of medieval studies.


Department of English | Department of History | Department of Spanish and Portuguese | School of Art and Art History



Department of English


Tom Blake
thomas-blake@uiowa.edu

Sonja Mayrhofer
sonja-mayrhofer@uiowa.edu

Joseph Rodriguez
joseph-p-rodriguez@uiowa.edu


Vincent Rotkiewicz
vincent-rotkiewicz@uiowa.edu
[CV]
My research focuses on drama and gender, particularly on Middle-English Cycle Plays and representations of the Peasant's Revolt of 1381 (specifically in Chaucer).


Spenser Santos
spenser-santos@uiowa.edu
My research focuses on Anglo-Saxon, Old Norse and some Old Spanish works, with a particular interest in the relationship of orthodoxy and heroes or heroic status.


Michael Sarabia
michael-sarabia@uiowa.edu


Tracy Stuhr
tracy-stuhr@uiowa.edu


Chris Vinsonhaler
chris-vinsonhaler@uiowa.edu



Department of History


Rebecca Church
rebecca-church@uiowa.edu
My research focus is on cross cultural interactions between Southern France and Spain as reflected in charters. My other interests include women/gender, monasticism, medieval Mediterranean and the broader Islamic world.


Kristi DiClemente
kristi-diclemente@uiowa.edu
[Blog]
My dissertation research is on marriage disputes in 15th century Paris bishop's court. My general foci are marriage, gender, women's history, social history in the High and Late Middle Ages. I am also involved in diversity and equality issues on campus, and student government.


Tyler Dryg
tyler-dryg@uiowa.edu
Medieval Germany


Renee Goethe
renee-goethe@uiowa.edu
My research focuses on the propaganda exchanges, both in textual and artistic forms, between the royal abbey of Saint-Denis and the Capetian kings of France. (1100-1324 C.E.)


Sarah Matthews
sarah-matthews@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu]
My research is on the role of the body in theories about mood, emotional health, and psychological therapies in the high and later Middle Ages; more broadly I am interested in the history of science, magic, and medicine.


Christopher McFadin
christopher-mcfadin@uiowa.edu
I am interested in the rise of monasteries as economic institutions during the medieval period.


Yvonne Seale
yvonne-seale@uiowa.edu
[Blog]
I am broadly interested in women's history and in the social history of religion, with my dissertation research focusing on female Premonstratensians in 12th/13th century northern France.


Michelle Seiler
michelle-seiler@uiowa.edu
Medieval English legal history.


Heather Wacha
heather-wacha@uiowa.edu
My research focuses on 12th/13th century Picardy, France: the construction of cartularies and women's religious patronage represented in those cartularies. Other interests include history of paper-making and book-binding as well as medieval Iberia and 12th/13th century French romances.



Department of Spanish and Portuguese


James Dyer
james-dyer@uiowa.edu



School of Art and Art History


Steven Kerrigan
steven-kerrigan@uiowa.edu


Rebecca Smith
rebecca-a-smith@uiowa.edu
Rebecca's research focuses on the practical and structural underpinnings of monumental medieval architecture, particularly in 13th century France.