Website             Banner showing a group of people working and relaxing in a            garden

Graduate Students

This is an interdisciplinary list of the graduate students at the University of Iowa who work in the area of medieval studies.


Department of English | Department of History | Department of Religious Studies | Department of Spanish and Portuguese | School of Art and Art History | School of Music



Department of English


Photo of Thomas BlakeTom Blake
thomas-blake@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu]
I'm currently ABD and near completion on my dissertation entitled "Royal Materials: The Object of Queens in Late Medieval Romance." I specialize in medieval gender and sexuality studies, with particular focuses on late medieval English queen consorts, thing theory and cultural materialism, monstrous medieval depictions of female bodies, medieval alterity, and representations of medieval Jews.


Sonja Mayrhofer
sonja-mayrhofer@uiowa.edu


Vincent Rotkiewicz
vincent-rotkiewicz@uiowa.edu
[CV]
My research focuses on drama and gender, particularly on Middle-English Cycle Plays and representations of the Peasant's Revolt of 1381 (specifically in Chaucer).


Spenser Santos
spenser-santos@uiowa.edu
My research focuses on Anglo-Saxon, Old Norse and some Old Spanish works, with a particular interest in the relationship of orthodoxy and heroes or heroic status.


Photo of Michael SarabiaMichael Sarabia
michael-sarabia@uiowa.edu
[Twitter] | [Website]
Co-directed by Jonathan Wilcox and Garrett Stewart, Michael?s dissertation is tentatively titled "The Extinction of Fiction: Metalepsis and the Acknowledgement of Fictive Persons in Medieval Literature." In it he looks at the ways in which medieval writers break the communicative frames inherent in the act of reading in order to put readers in touch with fictional worlds and characters. He theorizes that these moments expand our ethical boundaries toward the inclusion of the nonhuman.


Department of History


Photo of Kristi DiClementeKristi DiClemente
kristi-diclemente@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu] | [Blog]
My dissertation research is on marriage disputes in 15th century Paris bishop's court. My general foci are marriage, gender, women's history, social history in the High and Late Middle Ages. I am also involved in diversity and equality issues on campus, and student government.


Tyler Dryg
tyler-dryg@uiowa.edu
Medieval Germany


Renee Goethe
renee-goethe@uiowa.edu
My research focuses on the propaganda exchanges, both in textual and artistic forms, between the royal abbey of Saint-Denis and the Capetian kings of France. (1100-1324 C.E.)


Sarah Matthews
sarah-matthews@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu]
My research is on the role of the body in theories about mood, emotional health, and psychological therapies in the high and later Middle Ages; more broadly I am interested in the history of science, magic, and medicine.


Photo of Yvonne SealeYvonne Seale
yvonne-seale@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu] | [Blog] | [Twitter]
I am broadly interested in women's history and in the social history of religion, with my dissertation research focusing on female Premonstratensians in 12th/13th century northern France.


Michelle Seiler
michelle-seiler@uiowa.edu
Medieval English legal history.


Andrew Steck
andrew-steck@uiowa.edu
[CV]


Photo of Heather WachaHeather Wacha
heather-wacha@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu] | [CV] | [Twitter]
My research focuses on 12th/13th century Picardy, France: the construction of cartularies and women's religious patronage represented in those cartularies. Other interests include history of paper-making and book-binding as well as medieval Iberia and 12th/13th century French romances.



Department of Religious Studies


Photo of Ashley TickleAshley Tickle
ashley-tickle@uiowa.edu
Ashley is interested in Early Medieval Christianity (500-1000 CE) particularly in Ireland and Scotland.



Department of Spanish and Portuguese


James Dyer
james-dyer@uiowa.edu


Photo of José Pablo Barragán NietoJosé Pablo Barragán Nieto
josepablo-barragannieto@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu]
José's research interests include textual criticism, relationships between science and literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, and Spanish contemporary poetry.

 

School of Art and Art History


Photo of Anna IsbellAnna Isbell
anna-isbell@uiowa.edu
Anna's current research interests include issues of memory and perception, the late-medieval macabre; cross-cultural communication between the Christian West and the Islamic East, and decorative arts as displays of power in medieval Europe.


Photo of Rebecca SmithRebecca Smith
rebecca-a-smith@uiowa.edu
[Academia.edu]
Rebecca's research focuses on the practical and structural underpinnings of monumental medieval architecture, particularly in 13th century France.



School of Music


Photo of Michele AicheleMichele Aichele
michele-aichele@uiowa.edu
Michele's interests are in the role of women in composing, performing, teaching, and patronage in music. She focuses particularly in the United States in the early 20th-century and female religious houses in the Middle Ages.