About the Iowa Law Review

Since its inception in 1915 as the Iowa Law Bulletin, the Iowa Law Review has served as a scholarly legal journal, noting and analyzing developments in the law and suggesting future paths for the law to follow. Since 1935, students have edited and have managed the Law Review, which is published five times annually. The Law Review ranks high among the top “high impact” legal periodicals in the country, and its subscribers include legal practitioners and law libraries throughout the world.

Alumni of the Iowa Law Review have gone on to become successful lawyers, federal and state judges, law professors, politicians, and business people. The Iowa Law Review Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes former members of the Iowa Law Review for outstanding personal and professional achievement.

For a complete history of the Iowa Law Review’s first ninety years, see Willard Boyd & Randall P. Bezanson, Ninety Years of the Iowa Law Review, 91 Iowa L. Rev. 1 (2005).

Other articles discussing the history of the Law Review include:

The Law Review has earned a reputation for publishing superb IP-, patent-, trademark-, and other technological-related notes and articles. Recent and forthcoming publications include:

The Iowa Law Review is also committed to publishing scholarship that focuses on important issues facing the state of Iowa. Recent and forthcoming publications include:

Joining the Iowa Law Review

Because the Iowa Law Review is among the top fifteen most-cited American legal publications for student notes, writing for the Law Review is among the most challenging but rewarding experiences available to students at the University of Iowa College of Law. Among the benefits of joining the Law Review are:

  • Substantive Projects. Students writing for the Law Review perform substantive tasks critical to producing a top-notch legal publication. We publish five issues per year—more than any other journal at the law school—which allows student writers ample opportunity to edit works by both students and professional writers.
  • Get Published. Each year, the Law Review publishes roughly twenty student notes from our writers.
  • Sharpen Your Legal Skills. Student writers come away with comprehensive legal research experience, the ability to analyze complex legal issues with enhanced critical-reasoning skills, and a firm command of The Bluebook citation system, a standard in the legal community.
  • Build Marketability. Competitive employers, both public and private, understand that Law Review experience is a sign of a student who shows initiative, patience, and legal ability. The Law Review also sees many of its alums go on to state and federal clerkships.
  • Write About Anything. The Law Review is the only journal that accepts student-written notes on any legal topic.

Rising second-year students who have at least two years remaining until they complete their law degree and are interested in writing for the Law Review shall participate in a Write-On Competition, which is conducted after final exams in the spring semester. The Law Review selects its student writers based solely on the Write-On Competition. Students transferring to the University of Iowa College of Law after their first year are also eligible to participate in the Competition.

The Write-On Competition typically includes the following components:

  • Comment. Write a closed-universe comment on a recent case.
  • Bluebook Exercise. Edit an excerpt from a student note for Bluebook compliance, style, grammar, and spelling.
  • Personal Statement. Write a short essay that will help us get to know you and what sets you apart.

The Law Review usually accepts between thirty-six and forty student writers. Applications are graded anonymously, and past applications are on reserve in the Iowa Law Library.


View the current and historical mastheads of the Iowa Law Review.

Accepting Bulletin Submissions

The Iowa Law Review is currently accepting submissions for the Bulletin. Submission essays may be short or long and may be on any topic. Submit your essay to iowalawreviewbulletin@gmail.com.

Honor Roll of Contributors

Donate to the Iowa Law Review.

This honor roll gratefully recognizes contributors to the Iowa Law Review through the Iowa Law School Foundation. The first list recognizes those University of Iowa Law alums who qualified for membership in the Herbert F. Goodrich Society through commitments to the Law Review of $5000 or more. The second list recognizes all those who made contributions to the Law Review of $100 through $4999 from July 1, 2008, through June 30, 2009.

Additional support for the Iowa Law Review is needed and welcome. Like the Iowa Law School's other student journals, the Law Review relies on private support from alumni and friends to cover publishing costs and operating expenses. While gifts at all levels are appreciated, special recognition is given to those Law alumni whose commitments of $5000 or more qualify them for recognition in the Goodrich Society. The society is named for former UI law faculty member and dean Herbert F. Goodrich, who founded the Iowa Law Review in 1915. For more information about the Goodrich Society, or about making an annual contribution, multi-year pledge, or planned gift in support of the Law Review, contact any of the staff of the Iowa Law School Foundation at 1-800-648-6973.

Donations can also be made online through the Iowa Law School Foundation's website. Click here to support the Iowa Law Review with a web donation.

Members of the Herbert F. Goodrich Society

Donald P. Chehock, Class of 1931
Justin W. Albright, Class of 1933
Arthur H. Jacobson, Class of 1934
Ray V. Bailey, Class of 1937
Leo E. Fitzgibbons, Class of 1939
Eugene F. Scoles, Class of 1945
David C. Duncan, Class of 1947
Philip W. Tone, Class of 1948
G. Duane Vieth, Class of 1949
E. Eugene Davis, Class of 1951
Donald P. Lay, Class of 1951
John A. Stichnoth, Class of 1951
George W. McBurney, Class of 1953
John E. McTavish, Class of 1954
J. Stuart Smith, Class of 1959
John J. Bouma, Class of 1960
Richard R. Albrecht, Class of 1961
Donald R. Harris, Class of 1961
Robert E. Bouma, Class of 1962
Robert T. Berendt, Class of 1965
Joseph D. McDevitt, Class of 1965
John Rashke, Class of 1967
Randall P. Bezanson, Class of 1971
H. Mitchell D’Olier, Class of 1972
John C. Monroe, Class of 1972
Shawn B. Thompson, Class of 1972
Michael C. Hallerud, Class of 1973
Gerald D. W. North, Class of 1975
Ronald J. Brown, Class of 1977
Allan V. Hallquist, Class of 1980
Janet S. Sanderson, Class of 1982
David J. Schulte, Class of 1986
Elizabeth R. Boyd, Class of 1987
Thomas H. Boyd, Class of 1987
Samuel A. Thumma, Class of 1988


Boyd, Elizabeth R., St. Paul, Minn.
Boyd, Thomas H., St. Paul, Minn.
Bye, David, Fort Collins, Colo.
Dendinger, Matt J., Alexandria, Va.
Dick, Anne B., La Jolla, Calif.
Dick, Charles H., Jr., La Jolla, Calif.
Donnelly, Matthew J., Coralville, Iowa
Guernsey, Alison K., Iowa City, Iowa
Hilkin, Michael J., Sunnyside, N.Y.
Leitch, Evan J., Evergreen, Colo.
Mandelbaum, Joshua, Iowa City, Iowa
Martin, Patricia J., Johnston, Iowa
McDevitt, Joni L., Elm Grove, Wis.
McDevitt, Joseph D., Elm Grove, Wis.
Olszewski, Julie M., Silvis, Ill.
Pope, John Houston, Montclair, N.J.
Reese, Jessica, Minneapolis, Minn.
Scudder, Jeffrey A., Phoenix, Ariz.
Shaw, Christopher G., North Liberty, Iowa
Shaw, Kristin M., North Liberty, Iowa
Taylor, Amy M., Atlanta, Ga.
Thumma, Samuel A., Phoenix, Ariz.
Varol, Osman Ozan, San Francisco, Calif.
Wickham, Heather M., Burke, Va.
Wickham, Thomas J., Jr., Burke, Va.
Willis, Kristie D., Omaha, Neb.
Willis, Sherman P., Omaha, Neb.