Program News

Workshop Authors National Book Awards Finalists

Friday, October 12
book covers of finalistsCongratulations to Denis Johnson, Robert Hass, and Ellen Bryant Voigt, all finalists for the 2007 National Book Awards. Denis Johnson and Ellen Bryant Voigt are both graduates of the Iowa Writers' Workshop; Robert Hass recently taught at the Workshop as a visiting faculty member.

Felicitations, too, to Joshua Ferris, whose debut novel, Then We Came to the End, was also named a finalist. Ferris graduated from the University of Iowa with a B.A. in English and Philosophy. He is also a recipient of the 2001 - 2002 Schaeffer Award from the International Institute of Modern Letters; the award is made possible by Workshop alumnus Glenn Schaeffer.

View the complete list of award finalists at the National Book Award Foundation website.

Nominated books :
Tree of Smoke, by Denis Johnson (fiction)
Time and Materials, by Robert Hass (poetry)
Messenger: New and Selected Poems 1976 - 2006, by Ellen Bryant Voigt (poetry)
Then We Came to the End, by Joshua Ferris (fiction)