Program News

Anthony Marra (MFA, 2011) Wins 2012 Whiting Writers' Award

October 25, 2012

Fiction writer and recent Workshop graduate Anthony Marra was one of ten emerging writers awarded the 2012 Whiting Writers' Award. The Whiting Awards are geared to help extraordinary new writers find the footing to achieve success. Awards are made to poets, novelists, short-story writers, playwrights and writers of nonfiction.

Anthony Marra will publish his debut novel, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, in 2013 and his story collection, The Tsar of Love and Techno, in 2014, both with Hogarth. He is presently a Wallace Stegner Fellow in Creative Writing at Stanford. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, Narrative magazine, the 2011 Pushcart Prize anthology, and the Best American Nonrequired Reading 2012. 

The Whiting Writers' Awards have been given annually since 1985 and past recipients include Tobias Wolff, Jeffrey Eugenides, Mary Karr, and UI alumni Michael Cunningham and Kim Edwards -- all winners before they were acclaimed, bestselling authors.

Other recent Workshop alumni Whiting Award winners include Mark Levine, Salvatore Scibona, Charles D'Ambrosio, Yiyun Li, Alexander Chee, Justin Cronin, ZZ Packer, Lewis Robinson, Denis Johnson, Cate Marvin, and Daniel Alarcón.

For more information:
Anthony Marra at Narrative Magazine
2012 Whiting Writers' Awards