Program News Archive

Bob Schacochis a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

Harjo, Orringer & Szybist Named Guggenheim Fellows

Hannah Sanghee Park Wins Walt Whitman Award

Jennifer duBois, Anthony Marra, & Chinelo Okparanta Finalists for NYPL Young Lions Award

Abraham Verghese Honored by the Heinz Family Foundation

Kevin Holden Selected for Fence Modern Poets

2013 National Book Critics Circle Honors to Carmen Giménez Smith, Scott Anderson, and Anthony Marra

Rebecca Lee Nominated for 2013 Story Prize

Bennett Sims wins the 2014 Bard Fiction Prize

Jennifer duBois a 2013 Whiting Writers Award Recipient

2013 National Book Foundation Honors to Workshop Graduates

Eleanor Catton wins the 2013 Man Booker Prize

Eleanor Catton's The Luminaries Shortlisted for the Man Booker

Hannah Sanghee Park a 2013 Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellow

Marilynne Robinson Awarded 2012 National Humanities Award

A.M. Homes Awarded The Women's Prize for Fiction

Richard Bausch Wins the 2012 Rea Award for the Short Story

Three Workshop Alumni Win Awards from Poetry Society of America

T. Geronimo Johnson a 2013 PEN/Faulkner Finalist

Marina Warner Awarded 2013 Capote Prize for "Stranger Magic"

D.A. Powell Wins the 2012 National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry

Marilynne Robinson Nominated for 2013 Man Booker International Prize

Ayana Mathis's Twelve Tribes of Hattie Selected for the Oprah Book Club

Seven Workshop Alumni Win 2013 NEA Fellowships

Maggie Shipstead wins 2012 Dylan Thomas Award

Anthony Marra wins 2012 Whiting Award

Jen duBois, Stuart Nadler, and Justin Torres for the National Book Foundation's "5 Under 35"

Showalter's "A Jury of Her Peers" Wins Truman Capote Award

McCrae and Corral win prestigious Whiting Awards

McGurl's 'The Program Era' Wins Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism

Merritt Tierce wins Rona Jaffe Award

Philip Levine, U.S. Poet Laureate, 2011-2012

The Iowa Writers' Workshop on the PBS NewsHour

Julie Orringer on Orange Prize Longlist

Recent Grads LA Times Award Finalists

Yiyun Li Wins 2010 MacArthur Fellowship

Justin Torres & Michael Fauver Win Lambda Literary Honor

2010-2011 Rona Jaffe Fellow

Six Alumni Named to The New Yorker's "20 Under 40"

Paul Harding Wins 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award to D.A. Powell

Workshop Alumni Win Whiting Awards

Jayne Anne Phillips, National Book Finalist

2009-2010 Rona Jaffe Fellow

Marilynne Robinson Wins Orange Prize

New Flannery O'Connor Graduate Fellowship Fund

"Gilead" a Favorite Book of Obama's

Iowa City a UNESCO City of Literature

Robinson & Scibona 2008 National Book Award Finalists

Sana Krasikov & Nam Le "5 Under 35"

2008 Yale Younger Poets Award to Arda Collins

Jonathan Thirkield Wins Walt Whitman Award

Wallace Stegner and the American West

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Graduate Fellowship in Creative Writing

Hass & Schultz Awarded 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

Workshop Authors Named 2008 Guggenheim Fellows

Statement from the Provost Concerning MFA Theses

Kate Christensen Wins 2008 PEN/Faulkner Award

The Patient Voice Project Awarded Major Project Grant

Workshop Faculty and Alumni Finalists for L.A. Times Book Prize

Matthea Harvey & Mary Jo Bang NBCC Award Nominees

Denis Johnson & Robert Hass Win National Book Awards

Workshop Authors National Book Awards Finalists

Congratulations to Stuart Dybek