Comparative Legislative Research Center
The University of Iowa


328 Schaeffer Hall

The University of Iowa

Iowa City, Iowa 52242

Telephone: (319) 335-2361

FAX: (319) 335-3211



Director: Gerhard Loewenberg

Administrative Director:  Michelle L. Wiegand


The Comparative Legislative Research Center is a research unit at The University of Iowa established in 1971 to conduct research on legislative institutions throughout the world. Over the years it has received grants from the Ford Foundation, the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Agency for International Development, the Pew Charitable Trust, the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, and the Benjamin F. Shambaugh Memorial Fund among others. It has organized research conferences that have resulted in a number of books, notably including the Handbook of Legislative Research (Harvard University Press 1985) and Legislatures: Comparative Perspectives on Representative Assemblies (University of Michigan Press 2002).


The Centerís principal activity is publishing the Legislative Studies Quarterly, an international refereed journal devoted to research on representative assemblies. The Quarterly is the official journal of the Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association. It was founded in 1976 by faculty members at The University of Iowa but today its editors and the members of its editorial board are drawn from major research universities throughout the United States and abroad.


The Director and Associate Director of the Comparative Legislative Research Center are faculty members of the Department of Political Science of The University of Iowa.