About Us

We were founded by order of the Iowa Legislature in 1858 and are the oldest university museum west of the Mississippi River. We combine exhibits, education resources, programming, collections, and research opportunities to support the University of Iowa and our community.

With our sister museum, the Old Capitol Museum, we are part of the Pentacrest Museums, the "Doorways to Discovery" on the historic Pentacrest in downtown Iowa City.

 

History of the Museum

 

History of Macbride Hall

Our Mission

The mission of the University of Iowa Museum of Natural History is to inspire in visitors of all ages understanding and a sense of wonder, discovery, respect and responsibility for our natural and cultural worlds through exhibits, programs and collections, as well as through links with UI research and activities.

Contact Us

Mailing Address

11 Macbride Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-0480
Fax: 319-335-0653

Tour Reservations

To make a tour reservation, please call 319-335-0606 or email uimnh@uiowa.edu.

Contact our staff

General inquiries

Front desk (during gallery hours)

Rusty the Giant Sloth, Spokessloth

 

Sarah Horgen, Education Coordinator

Arthur Kim, Visitor Services Coordinator

Cindy Opitz, Collections Manager

Byron Preston, Exhibits Preparator

Trina Roberts, Associate Director & Curator

Casey Westlake, Communications Coordinator

uimnh@uiowa.edu

319-335-0480

rusty-giant-sloth@uiowa.edu

 

319-335-0606 or sarah-horgen@uiowa.edu

319-335-0548 or arthur-kim@uiowa.edu

319-335-0481 or cindy-opitz@uiowa.edu

319-335-0809 or byron-preston@uiowa.edu

319-335-1313 or trina-roberts@uiowa.edu

319-335-3591 or casey-westlake@uiowa.edu

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon

Join Our Mailing List

You will receive a monthly Pentacrest Museums program calendar and reminders of special events.

Find Us on Social Media

If you prefer to receive only traditional hard-copy mailings, enter your contact information here:

First Name:
(example: John)

Last Name:
(example: Smith)

Address:
(example: 10 Macbride Hall)

Address 2:
(example: Apartment 10)

City:
(example: Iowa City)

State:
(example: IA)

Zip Code:
(example: 52242)

Please include me in your:

Newsletter and Program Announcements
Annual Donor Campaign

Comments: