Screen readers: Three navigational links to follow.Skip to main navigation.Skip to page content.Skip to navigation for this issue.
The University of Iowa

Summer 2010


Navigating chaos: Tips for making the most of move-in

What students need to know before arriving on campus

How to help your student adjust to college and ease your own transition

Reminders for parents

Housing and Dining scholarship winners

Helping big brother move in


Residents reap rewards: Meet this year’s University Housing and Dining scholarship winners

Each year, University Housing and Dining singles out qualified and deserving students living in the residence halls and gives them a little financial boost, based on specific scholarship criteria.

Emily Pudenz, sophomore

Award: 2010 George L. Droll Award, a $1,500 room-and-board credit
Hometown: Lake City, Iowa
Major: Integrative physiology
Residence hall: Mayflower
Reason for living on campus: At first it was for the convenience, but now I wouldn’t trade living in the residence halls for anything because that’s where I have met all my greatest friends. It’s a great way to stay connected.

Thomas Larson, sophomore

Award: 2010 Associated Residence Halls George L. Droll Award, a $1,000 award
Hometown: Centerville, Iowa
Major: Pre-med/biology, Spanish minor
Residence hall: Stanley
Reason for living on campus: Mainly to live with people my age. I live with hundreds, while still having my own space. My favorite part has been getting involved in hall government.


Aundrea Watkins, sophomore

Award: 2010 David Coleman Scholarship, a $900 award
Hometown: Davenport, Iowa
Major: Education
Residence hall: Mayflower
Reason for living on campus: Next year will be the third year I’ve stayed in Mayflower—in the same room—and one reason is my suitemate. We have become good friends.


Other scholarships

University Housing and Dining also teams up with the Iowa Memorial Union to award scholarships to select individuals working in either Burge or Hillcrest Market Place or in IMU Food Services.

The following students received a 2010 Food Service Student Employee Scholarship:

  • Emily Anderson, sophomore, Dubuque, Iowa;
  • Aaron Faulkner, sophomore, Independence, Iowa;
  • Adam Hopkins, senior, Amboy, Ill.;
    Andrea Reinhardt, junior, Farley, Iowa;
  • Michelle Schebler, junior, Solon, Iowa;
  • Ashley Shortridge, sophomore, Oswego, Ill.

For more information on University Housing and Dining scholarships,
call 319-335-3000 or e-mail

by Sara Epstein Moninger


Bookmark and Share