Old Capitol

Diversity Committee

To promote diversity awareness and recommend ways to increase diversity and inclusion of all staff on campus in conjunction with the University of Iowa "Core Values," Institutional Goal #5 which strives for a "culturally diverse and inclusive university campus."

Scope of Concern

Develop programs throughout the year to promote diversity awareness, including the annual Staff Council Martin Luther King Celebration. Actively solicit information from and interact with the various diversity groups on campus and in the community in support of their goals as well as jointly sponsoring events/programs. Disseminate information to staff council concerning diversity programs and current activities and seek active support from Staff Council for promotion of these programs. Request annual updates from the University on the progress made toward increasing diversity and inclusion of staff on campus.


Open to any Staff Council member and a representative from each diversity committee on campus.

2013-2014 Staff Council Committee Members

Suzanne Julich - Chair
Chris Delsandro
Ann Ramsey

2012-2013 Staff Council Committee Members

Smith, Joshua - Chair
Christensen, Jacob
Gerken, Gabriella
Benford, Danielle
Julich, Suzanne

2011-2012 Staff Council Committee Members

Katie McKibben, Co-chair
Joshua Smith, Co-chair
Chris Delsandro
Matt Edwards
Catherine Fruehling-Wall
Josh Hutchison
Steve Milder

2010-2011 Staff Council Committee Members

John Downing, Co Chair
Eddie Etsey, Co Chair
Diana Boeglin
Josh Hutchison
Katie McKibben
Joshua Smith