Old Capitol

University Relations Committee

1. Endeavor to establish and maintain working relationships between University shared governance bodies.
2. Foster good relationships among local, state, and national officials and the University, in collaboration with the Executive Committee and in conjunction with Faculty Senate’s Governmental Relations Committee.
3. Research and share findings on new methods and improvements to shared governance models.

Scope of Concern

1. Attendance at Org. shared governance meetings.
2. Identify shared governance group contacts.
3. Keep shared governance portal up to date. http://www.uiowa.edu/sharedgovernance/
4. Investigate and compare shared governance models of peer institutions to our own.


While there are no restrictions on membership, at least one Staff Council officer should be a member of the committee.

2013-2014 Staff Council Committee Members

Hans Hoerschelman - Chair
Susan Beckett
Lorna Richards
Justin Rogers
Theresa Garringer

2012-2013 Staff Council Committee Members

Hamilton, Steve - Chair
Hospodarsky, George
McKibben, Katie
Thompson, Greg
Hoerschelman, Hans
Sprenger, Kimberly

2011-2012 Staff Council Committee Members

Steve Hamilton, Chair
Frank Burris
Traci Oleson
Robert Posekany
Ann Synan
Sean Thompson

2010-2011 Staff Council Committee Members

Matt Edwards, Chair
Steve Hamilton
Dana Lange
Marian Muste
Julie Sexton
Ann Synan